QuestRift SGoApps & GamesCommunitySupport
Esports Evolved: Tune Into the VR League Season 3 Finale June 8 – 9
Oculus Blog
|
Posted by Oculus VR
|
June 7, 2019
|
Share

It’s been two years since we launched the VR League with ESL—and in that time, VR esports has continued to grow immensely. Combining real-life physicality with some of the best VR gaming has to offer, Season 3 offered up tactical FPS action in Onward, zero-gravity spectator sports in Echo Arena, battle-ready robots in Echo Combat, and the jetpack-fueled insanity of Space Junkies. We saw 451 unique players across 146 teams, and it all comes to a head this weekend as 16 teams will travel to Leicester, England to compete for their share of the $250K USD prize pool.

Tune into the Semi-Finals LIVE at 12:00 pm BST / 4:00 am PT on June 8, followed by the Finals at 1:00 pm BST / 5:00 am PT on June 9. Catch all the action on Twitch, YouTube, and Facebook Watch, and check out Twitter and Instagram for updates, highlights, and more.

Teams competed weekly over the last couple months to secure their spot in the live finals. Team Gravity and Ouroboros will represent the EU in Echo Arena, alongside VRespawn Jokr and Kangorillaz from North America. Echo Combat will once again showcase the talents of Kangorillaz alongside VRespawn from North America, with a repeat performance from Team Gravity as well as Blerst! from the EU. VRespawn will also compete with Danglers from North America in Space Junkies, while Team Gravity completes the trifecta as they take on The Leftovers from the EU. And for mil-sim Onward, Globochem and G-Men will compete for North America, while Beginners takes the stage for the EU. To round out the pack, we partnered with the VR Master League, a community organized VR esports league, to bring VRML season champs BossFight to the battlefield.

Click here for more information about the path to the finals, or learn how MrRJGreen (Ryan Green) turned from extreme sports to VR esports as he adjusted to life with a disability before watching him compete as part of The Leftovers this weekend.

— The Oculus Team

Oculus Rift S

Our most advanced PC-powered VR gaming headset.