Venues (Beta Early Access)

Check out this event in the Oculus App

Begins

Apr
22
10:30pm

Ends

Apr
23
3:28am

15,018 people interested

Watch NASA's SpaceX Crew-2 Launch to the International Space Station

Watch live starting at 1:30 a.m. EDT (5:30 UTC), Fri., April 23, as four astronauts launch from Earth to their new home in space, the International Space Station.

At 5:49 a.m. EDT (9:49 UTC), the SpaceX Crew Dragon Endeavour spacecraft and Falcon 9 rocket will lift off from NASA's Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Shane Kimbrough and Megan McArthur of NASA, Thomas Pesquet of ESA - European Space Agency, and Akihiko Hoshide of JAXA (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency) will join the station's crew, for a mission of approximately six months.

This will be the first launch through our NASA Commercial Crew Program to fly two international partner astronauts, and the first reuse of a Crew Dragon spacecraft and Falcon 9 rocket for a crew mission.

Once aboard the station, the Crew-2 astronauts will spend a lot of time on science — in areas such as medical technology, human health, and materials to benefit life on Earth. The space station is a unique scientific platform, enabling researchers from all over the world to put their talents to work on innovative experiments. It has instruments that monitor our home planet's global climate, environmental changes, and natural hazards.

This content is presented via Facebook Live stream in 2D format.